I MINA'TRENTAI UNU NA LIHESLATURAN GUÅHAN 2012 (SECOND) Regular Session

Resolution No. 585-31 (COR)

Introduced by:

R. J. Respicio
T. C. Ada
V. A. Ada
F. F. Blas, Jr.
B. J.F. Cruz
Chris M. Dueñas
J. P. Guthertz, DPA
Sam A. Mabini, Ph.D.
T. R. Muña Barnes
Adolpho B. Palacios, Sr.
V. C. Pangelinan
Dennis G. Rodriguez, Jr.
M. Silva Taijeron
Aline A. Yamashita, Ph.D.
Judith T. Won Pat, Ed.D.

Relative to commending and congratulating the Filipino Community of Guam (FCG), one of our island's premiere non-profit philanthropic civic organizations, on the occasion of its Fifty-eighth (58th) Year Anniversary; and to further recognizing the FCG members and officers for their unselfish willingness to serve for the benefit of the people of Guam.

1BE IT RESOLVED BY THE COMMITTEE ON RULES OF I2MINA'TRENTAI UNU NA LIHESLATURAN GUÅHAN:

WHEREAS, the Filipino Community of Guam (FCG) is one of Guam's most outstanding, non-profit, philanthropic, civic organizations, and is celebrating fits Fifty-eighth (58th) Year Anniversary as one our island's most active and well-

1	known groups that never fails to lend a hand to assist those in need; and
2	WHEREAS, the current Officers of the FCG are:
3	President Leah Beth Naholowaa;
4	• 1st Vice President Roy Adonay;
5	• 2nd Vice President William Dela Pena;
6	• 3rd Vice President Meilou Milligan;
7	 Secretary Elizabeth San Nicolas;
8	 Assistant Secretary Ella Amistad;
9	Treasurer Marites Valondo;
10	 Assistant Treasurer Sonya Sotelo;
11	 Public Relations Officer Mark Duarte;
12	 Auditor Efren Marquez; and
13	 Peace Officers Dan Romulo and Pompeyo Barroga; and
14	WHEREAS, these fine Officers have been successfully carrying on the
15	traditions of the FCG and the Filipino people, recognizing the strong and growing
16	interdependence that exists among the rich diversity of cultures on Guam, and
17	actively promoting civic, social and moral issues for everyone who lives on our
18	beautiful island; and
19	WHEREAS, as a non-profit organization, the FCG is the umbrella
20	organization of seventy (70) groups, consisting of several thousand Filipino

21 Americans, all of whom have chosen to contribute to the growth and prosperity of

22 our Guam community, and to make this beautiful and unique island their home;

and 23

1 WHEREAS, on Saturday, October 27, 2012, at the Sheraton Laguna Guam, 2 the FCG members and guests will meet in fellowship, and to enjoy the Fifty-eighth (58th) Year Anniversary Celebration; and the Honorable Senator Aquilino Martin 3 de la Llana Pimentel III, affectionately known as "Koko" Pimentel, and son of a 4 5 former Senator, the Honorable Aquilino Pimentel, Jr., will be the honored guest speaker for this auspicious occasion of the FCG Fifty-eighth (58th) Year 6 7 Anniversary celebration, bringing his wide range of expertise and his knowledge of the law to enhance this important event; now therefore, be it 8

9 **RESOLVED,** that the Committee on Rules of *I Mina'Trentai Unu Na* 10 *Liheslaturan Guåhan* does hereby, on behalf of *I Liheslaturan Guåhan* and the 11 people of Guam, commend and congratulate the Filipino Community of Guam, one 12 of our island's largest and longest-running philanthropic, non-profit civic 13 organizations, on its fifty-eight (58) years of service to the people of our island, as 14 well as to those in need among our neighbors in the Pacific; and be it further

15 **RESOLVED**, that the Speaker and the Chairperson of the Committee on Rules certify, and the Legislative Secretary attest to, the adoption hereof, and that 16 17 copies of the same be thereafter transmitted to FCG Officers: Ms. Leah Beth 18 Naholowaa, President; Mr. Roy Adonay, First Vice President; Mr. William Dela 19 Pena, Second Vice President; Ms. Meilou Milligan, Third Vice President; Ms. 20 Elizabeth San Nicolas, Secretary; Ms. Ella Amistad, Assistant Secretary; Ms. Marites Valondo, Treasurer; Ms. Sonya Sotelo, Assistant Treasurer; Mr. Mark 21 22 Duarte, Public Relations Officer; Mr. Efren Marquez, Auditor; and Mr. Dan

- 1 Romulo and Mr. Pompeyo Barroga, Peace Officers; and to the Honorable Edward
- 2 J.B. Calvo, I Maga'lahen Guåhan.

DULY AND REGULARLY ADOPTED BY THE COMMITTEE ON RULES OF *I MINA'TRENTAI UNU NA LIHESLATURAN GUÅHAN* ON THE 26TH DAY OF OCTOBER 2012.

RMRM J. Respicio

RORY J. RESPICIO Chairperson, Committee on Rules

JUDITH T. WON PAT, Ed. D. Speaker

TINA ROSE MUÑA BARNES Legislative Secretary